The Perfect Husband (Quincy and Rainie #1)

ISBN: 1568656017
ISBN 13: 9781568656014
By: Lisa Gardner

Check Price Now

Genres

Crime Currently Reading Favorites Fiction Lisa Gardner Mystery Series Suspense Thriller To Read

About this book

Jim Beckett was everything Tess had ever dreamed of...But two years after Tess married Jim, she helped put him behind bars for savagely murdering ten women. Even locked up in a maximum security prison, he vowed he would come after her and make her pay. As the clock ticks, counting down to their reunion, Tess has got to change the ways of a lifetime. She's got to stop being scared. And she's got to learn to fight back. Because this is a marriage that'll last until the grave...

Reader's Thoughts

Tara Jones

Best Lisa Gardner book, thus far......and I have read almost all of the DD Warren books. While those are hard to put down because I find myself wanting the characters to work together to soften DD's heart and make her more open-minded and less stubborn (all while rooting for her to find the true "bad guy/gal," this book was extremely difficult to put down because of every character, their pasts, their interactions, their thoughts, the scenery/imagery. this was not just an action-packed book, not just a romance, not just a mystery, not just a deeply descriptive, thought pro joking book; it was all of the above and more. instead of wanting to get to the end of the book, I enjoyed the entire book. I hope all of Gardner's FBI Profiler series books are as deep, textured, and intriguing stories that somehow, despite the horrific subject matter, are enjoyable moving and enlightening. If they are, I will prefer them to the DD Warren series, any day. and that's saying a lot. in itself. because of how difficult it is for me to put down the DD Warren books, as well. I'd say the writing and characters and settings are more lovable, or enjoyably intriguing than those in/of the other Gardner books. out of the many books in the many genres I have read, I've only given three of them five stars. This is one of the three. Enjoy!

Carol

Going to make this quick! I grabbed this to read on the plane on my trip to Booktopia Bellingham as I wanted a book that was "light". It was certainly light in regards to weight but not "light" reading in the typical sense. I don't know if I've read any other Gardner books but found both the violence and sex more graphic than I was expecting. This is a comment, not a criticism. Good edge of your seat thriller, with great character development and a plot about domestic violence and control that is all too true. So why not 4 or 5 stars. I found it a bit repetitious, too long, like Garnder was trying to fill in for a set number of pages. Without mentioning names I saw no purpose to one character's demise and I think this distracted from the whole of the story. I definitely going to give another of Gardner's books a try as this is my type of thriller reading.

Olivermagnus

Theresa Matthews met and married Jim Beckett thinking he was everything she'd ever dreamed of. But after becoming pregnant she learns that her perfect husband is hiding a horrific secret. Two years after Tess helps get Jim locked up for the serial murders of ten women, she thinks she and her child are safe. But Jim escapes from his maximum security prison and pledges revenge on his wife. Tess puts her daughter in police protection and then sets out on her own. She believes the time has come to stop running and start fighting for her life, so she turns to the burnt out ex-marine J.T. Dillon for fighting lessons. J.T. has his own demons, and he doesn't want the responsibility of protecting Tess. Battling his way through a horrible childhood, J.T. came out scarred. He knew that he didn't protect his younger sister, Marion, from their father and suffers extreme depression over the loss of his wife and child, the only people he cared for. Now, after two weeks training with Tess, J.T. knows that he cannot lose another woman he's come to care for.I found the concept for this story to have a lot of potential but it's obvious this was one of the first books ever written by Lisa Gardner. Normally I like them much better than this one. I found the relationship between Tess and J.T. to be pretty shallow and awkwardly written. It didn't make sense to me that a woman with a background of violence in relationships would be attracted to a hot-headed, drunken, and seemingly violent man. The characters were not developed enough for me to care too much about them. To be fair, I'm not a huge fan of romantic suspense.....I like a grittier style of mystery. I think many people will enjoy it more than I did. Lisa Gardner does write some really good books and I've enjoyed her D.D. Warren series quite a bit. Like many early books, Gardner has gotten a lot better with time.

Jess

I'm finding it hard to rate this one, so I guess I will go with explaining what I liked and what I didn't like.Pros- Jim Beckett's character was unbelievably creepy and sadistic. This made for great reading as he was unpredictable and I was really rooting for him to be caught-The storyline overall was very suspenseful and although I had an idea of what may happen I wasn't entirely certain.-I liked Tess's character. She was strong and was trying to help herself and her child get a better life. She knew she had to do something to save herself rather than relying on others.Cons- I disliked JT. He was constantly beating himself up over things and his desire to use alcohol to numb his feelings just got on my nerves.-I really didn't like JT's relationship with his sister. It was weird, and got on my nerves. The constant bickering was not amusing and although Gardner was trying to create a secondary drama with the two of them I just found myself not caring all that much.So take what you will from the review. I will still be reading the second since I think that JT won't be in it. And there go all the issues I had with this book, so the second one has to be better!!

Theresa Leone Davidson

I read the fifth in the series first, a couple of months ago, so I had to go back to the first in the series. It's about the hunt for a serial killer, with the killer's wife as the main character. She turned him in once but now he's escaped from prison and she knows he will be coming after her. She hires a mercenary to train her in self defense, and of course they fall for each other. The suspense was riveting and got me through the book in only a day and a half. I scored it only a three, however, because of the completely implausible chain of events that happen to a supporting character, the mercenary's sister, and because, unless she's gotten better at it, Gardner should not write sex scenes. They made me cringe, and also implausible is our main character, Tess, knowing her beloved daughter has been kidnapped by a serial killer, but not being able to help herself from jumping into bed with her mercenary. Doesn't ring true. Nevertheless, an exciting read.

Jen

This was one of the first books that Gardner wrote... she has definately become a much better writer. I have loved the other books by her (alone, gone, killing hour), but i really didn't like this one.The story line is very unrealistic and the characters are not likable.The story centers around "tess" Her husband, is a psychopath who kills many people, he gets arrested, breaks out of prison, and comes back for her and her daughter.That plot sounds great, but the storyline was very bad.Tess goes to a mercenary for help (JT). The books centers on how screwed up JT is and how is father beat him and his sister..... i don't know. The book was just not a good read. I didn't like reading about JT; the book should have centered around Tess and her killer husband.

Katie

This was my first foray into romantic suspense, and even though the romance wasn't quite to my taste, this still made for an entertaining and very fast read that would appeal to both romance fans (provided they don't mind a heavy dose of violence, sex, and language), and suspense fans (provided they don't mind the romance angle).The story centers around Tess, who marries a charming police officer named Jim Beckett. Two years into the marriage, however, Tess discovers that Jim is a sadistic serial killer who has murdered ten women. She has Jim arrested, but not before he attacks her. Now, several years later, she learns that Jim has escaped from prison to find her.Most people in Tess's position would go straight to the police, but because Jim Beckett is an ex-cop, and because he managed to get past the cops before, Tess decides on a different strategy...she decides to fight back. With the reluctant help of J.T. Dillon, an ex-Marine, she learns to defend herself. But the whole time, Jim is planning his ambush...Even though the plot centers around Tess, the story is told from the perspective of multiple characters, the two main ones being Tess and J.T. But through this multiple perspective approach, we learn a lot about the characters and their back stories, and the suspense increases dramatically, especially when we get inside the head of Jim Beckett.And, of course, we have the romantic attraction between Tess and J.T. As I mentioned before, I wasn't a fan of the romantic angle, but that's just a personal preference of mine. At any rate, the romance wasn’t excessive, so it didn’t detract too much from the rest of the story, and it did provide some interesting insights into the characters.For me, the story’s biggest strength was in the suspense it created, and the plot twists introduced in the last half of the book. By letting the reader inside Jim Beckett’s head, we know more than any of the rest of the characters, and we get a better sense of his razor-sharp intelligence, making him an even more terrifying villain. This is a classic example of the page turner – you’re sure to blast through this one within a few days. Readalikes: Catherine Coulter, Tami Hoag, Sandra Brown, Julie Garwood are all popular romantic suspense authors who write thrilling stories with strong female protagonists. For less of a romantic suspense angle, try Harlan Coben, who also writes well-plotted suspense stories with intriguing characters and accurate forensic details.

Sara

I read The Perfect Husband because it's apparently first in a series in which I want to read the last book. From what I gather, I really doubt that I actually *have* to read them all, but I'm anal retentive like that, and TPH wasn't impossible to get through. It actually turns out that I'd read this book a few years ago. It's not bad at all, but I think it would have been better as a straight up crime novel without the romantic elements, which felt contrived and a little too Harlequinn/borderline pornographic for me. I was moved by the relationship between J.T. and Marion, but unconvinced by J.T.'s relationship with Tess. J.T. himself comes off exactly like the hero in a trashy romance...so tortured and tragically flawed, and so good on the inside, no matter how he might seem on the outside. If that was what Lisa Gardner was going for, she did a great job, but I found J.T. less human and more prototype as a result. Tess could have been anybody; in my opinion, she was a little too doe-eyed, especially in regards to J.T., than what you would have expected in someone who had been through all she had.I feel that Marion and Jim were the strongest characters in this novel. Marion felt completely real to me; her pain is so palpable that you can almost feel the reverberations as she runs herself into the same wall over and over again. Jim is the epitome of sinister; he may be a little TOO smart, too diabolical...but he still makes you second guess yourself when you're in a dark room all alone.

LJ

THE PERFECT HUSBAND (Suspense-Tess-Cont) - ExGardner, Lisa - 1st in seriesFrom Fantastic Fiction: Jim Beckett was everything Tess had ever dreamed of... But 2 years after Tess married Jim and bore his child, she helped put him behind bars for savagely murdering 10 women. Even lockedup in a max security prison, he vowed he would come after her and make her pay. Now the killer has escaped, and Tess has got to learn to fight back. With the help of a burned out ex marine, Tess learns how to protect herself and her daughter as a gigantic manhunt , crossing 4 states, counts down to this terrifying reunion between husband and wife. Raw violence, hot sex--a great read but not for everyone.

Karen

I was interested in this book and the movements of a serial killer, as well as the ultimate outcome. I enjoy mysteries--especially crime-dramas and police procedure, so I was looking forward to reading this one. For me, there were little annoying things such as unedited typos and grammatical errors. But bigger issues were the underdeveloped characters. The main characters were not sympathetic and I only cared about how the killer would finally be caught and killed. Of course, the constant errors made by law enforcement were frustrating, but I expect that's par for the course.This series received high ratings and I marked the Quincy & Rainie books as to-read, but I will be removing them from my list. Life is too short to read mediocre books.

Michael

Tess is a woman on the edge. Having put away in prison her abusive husband Jim who had killed 10 women she was now faced with the knowledge he had escaped and was looking for her. With her daughter Samantha in a safe house Tess convinced the police will not be the best option for protection goes to ex marine J.T. to help her face her fears by teaching her how to defend herself.J.T. has demons of his own to contend with with the death of his abusive father and the denial from his little sis Marion about what happened growing up. J.T. regrets not being able to save her from abuse when younger. Despite being unwilling to start of with J.T. pushes Tess and eventually falls for her. While this is going on Jim is slowly and methodically going towards Tess. Getting Samantha from the safe house and leaving a trail of dead police officers in his wake. Will Tess and J.T. be able to stop Jim from ending what he set out to do?The Perfect husband was another quality read from one of the great crime writers of our time in Lisa Gardner. Although different from her Detective D.D. we do have another a familiar face with FBI's Quincy trying his best to nail Jim while realising he would be a target himself. Jim Beckett is also a terryfying bad guy. Smart enough to avoid detection while strong enough to kill police officers with his bare hands. While it is obvious Tess will confront Jim again and J.T. will be there to defend her the story had a number of twist that took me by suprise and kept me guessing. Overall this is an excellent read for fans of fictional crime.

Gwynne Andal

Another favorite from Lisa Gardner. It was perfect because the characters were so complicated and bears emotional scars that made them more important or vital to this book. It was fast-paced and in a sense just a simple chase story. The characters were really the gem of this novel. I love how Tess was the typical victim, meaning that her past made her the perfect bride for a psychopath like Jim. Abused emotionally and physically, she wanted to love and be loved. Typical? Yes, but the difference is how we see her evolve and that we are part of the healing process. She battles with her anxiety and stress and defies what she was before to what she wants to be: a strong person for her daughter. We are part of how she deals with all these negative things in her life and still be strong enough to recognize and open up to the possibility of finding true love. And the defying moment for me with her character is when she stood up with the hero and professed her love. She was unsure of whether those feelings will be returned but it was a moment that felt like the last puzzle for growing a spine.Do not get me started on JT. Perfect. Perfect. PERFECT! As a fan of romance/suspense novels, having a jaded alpha hero feels like mandatory. Troubled childhood? Check. Military man? Check. Overall hot mess in the emotional status? Check. Typical hero again. The difference with J.T. is that he genuinely is a good person and is a softie. Who in his right mind marries someone for the reason he had and ended up being the best decision of his life? Sure he was depressed and was in denial of his alcohol problem but the thing is, I felt like all those scenes were all the tears he couldn't shed for his loved ones. All of the things he has done was because he wanted to protect these people and that he was doing what is honorable and right. If his methods were a little unorthodox, I don't blame him. He is a passionate person.The other characters were winners too. Quincy's notes felt like study notes and I was back to feeling like studying personality types in college. Having a hard time deciding whether the killer's pattern was good or bad. It was pretty bland and uninspired but I guess it was a window to what he really thinks of himself. Marion was right, it was an arrogant statement that does not need any more explanations.The negative point I would have would be Sam's minimal exposure and the why of Jim's actions. But overall it was a good read.

Anna

A true thiller....just when you think you have it figured out....wham! I love her books for great suspense and awesome stories. The twists are crazy! I can usually figure out suspense novels pretty quickly...but hers -- not so much. Love it.

Book Him Danno

My aunt has talked about this book for awhile and she finally just gifted it to me from Amazon for the Kindle. Wow I have to say that it kept me on the edge of my chair wondering what was going to happen. Her bad guy was BAD, he scared me to the point that I was checking the locks, the windows and the closets before going to bed. He was freaky scary and I hope never to meet someone like him in real life.I liked that the female, Tess, took control of her life and didn't just let things happen to her. She was determined to fight him with everything she had and even leaned new skills to add to the battle. J.T. was a strong lead, even with the condition he was in when she met him. He was determined to end this with Tess's husband and even with his loss he made a formidable foe.If you like suspense thrillers you will enjoy this book. I now look forward to finding the time to read her other books. 4 1/2 stars maybe not for everyone.

HÜLYA

Mükemmel Koca Lisa Gardner adı gibi mükemmel bir kitap idi... Orjinal adı The Perfect Husband olan Mükemmel Koca'nın Goodreads puanı 5/3,98 benim puanım 5/5 ..Yazarın diğer kitaplarini da en kısa zamanda okumayı planlıyorum. Harika bir romantik polisiye gerilimdi. Hikayede her şey vardı. Kapaktan ceviri ve edite kadar dört dörtlük bir kitaptı.Sayfaları nasıl çevirdiğimi fark etmedim..Kocanız hasta ruhlu olsa ne yapardınız? Babasının zulmünden kurtulmak icin genc yasta evlenen Tess'in hayatı cok gecmeden bir kabusa dönüşecektir...Yakışıklı,karizmatik kocasının şiddeti ve hasta ruhu ile çok geçmeden tanişan Tess eski günlerini mumla arayacaktir. Theresa Matthews babasının şiddetinden kacmak ve onu koruması icin yeni tanıstıgi yakışıklı karizmatik polis Jim Beckett ile evlenir. Yakısiklı,havalı bu genç adamın gercek yüzü ile tanısması uzun sürmez.Mükemmelliyet sevdası IQ'su çok yüksek olan bu genç adam Tess'i hastalık şeklindeki mükemmelliyet için çok zorlar.. Ona önce psikolojik baskı yaparak aşagılayip istedigi gibi sindirmeye başlar. Her şeye o karar verir uygular gerekirse zor ile uygulatır..Evliliklerinin ikinci yılına geldiğinde Theresa Jim Beckett'in gercek yüzünü görmüş olup polisle iş birligi yaparak onun gercek yüzünü aciga cikartip isledigi on cinayetten hapise girmesini saglar.Jim'den bosanan Tess icin korku dolu günler bitmez polis korumasında olsa da günleri geceleri korku içinde geçmektedir..Kocası kural tanımayan zeka seviyesi çok yüksek ve istediği kılığa kolayca girebilmektedir..Her an nereden geleceğini beklemekten yaşam onun için dayanılmaz bir hale gelmiştir...Her an eski kocasının karşısına çıkıp onu ele verdiği için onu öldürmeye gelmesini beklemektedir...ünkü Jİm Beckett onun yakalatan karısinin kalbıni sökerek öldürmeye yemin etmistir. Kural tanımayan kocasi polislerin tüm çalısma sistemini bilmekte oldugundan,onu polisin koruyamayacaginin da farkina varmistir. Jim Beckett iki gardiyanı öldürerek hapisten kaçar Theresa Eski asker J.T.Dillon'a başvurur onu asker gibi egitip dövüsmeyi ögrenmesi icin yüklü bir para teklif eder.J.T de karısi ve cocugunu kaybetmiş siddetten hazetmeyen alkolik bir eski askerdir. Cok derin ailevi sorunlarida vardir. Bu isi kabul etmek istemez Tess'de pes etmek istemez.Ama bu çekişmeyi sonunda Tess kazanır ve J:T. genç kadını eğitmeye başlar...Geçen zaman içinde de ikili arasındaki romantik yakınlaşma da başlar..Kocası ile yaşadığı ilişki de kadınlığını yaşamayamayan Tess için hissettikleri çok özeldir...Tavsiye ederim..İlk defa okumaya başladığım bu yazarın takipçisi olacağım....

Share your thoughts

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *