The Perfect Husband (Quincy and Rainie #1)

ISBN: 1568656017
ISBN 13: 9781568656014
By: Lisa Gardner

Check Price Now

Genres

Crime Currently Reading Favorites Fiction Lisa Gardner Mystery Series Suspense Thriller To Read

About this book

Jim Beckett was everything Tess had ever dreamed of...But two years after Tess married Jim, she helped put him behind bars for savagely murdering ten women. Even locked up in a maximum security prison, he vowed he would come after her and make her pay. As the clock ticks, counting down to their reunion, Tess has got to change the ways of a lifetime. She's got to stop being scared. And she's got to learn to fight back. Because this is a marriage that'll last until the grave...

Reader's Thoughts

Carol

Going to make this quick! I grabbed this to read on the plane on my trip to Booktopia Bellingham as I wanted a book that was "light". It was certainly light in regards to weight but not "light" reading in the typical sense. I don't know if I've read any other Gardner books but found both the violence and sex more graphic than I was expecting. This is a comment, not a criticism. Good edge of your seat thriller, with great character development and a plot about domestic violence and control that is all too true. So why not 4 or 5 stars. I found it a bit repetitious, too long, like Garnder was trying to fill in for a set number of pages. Without mentioning names I saw no purpose to one character's demise and I think this distracted from the whole of the story. I definitely going to give another of Gardner's books a try as this is my type of thriller reading.

Anne (Booklady) Molinarolo

A Lisa Gardner tale is always worth the all-nighter I pull to finish the book! Gardner knows how suspense works-taut pacing makes a thriller. Titled the PERFECT HUSBAND because Jim Beckett thinks he is. As a handsome charming Police Officer, Theresa (Tess) can't believe he's interested in her. For years, she lives with an abusive father and unwitting leaps into the marriage bed of the worst sociopath, she can imagine. Jim swore he'd kill his 'perfect wife' for helping the police putting him, Jim Beckett perfection personified (especially in his killing), onto death row. He escapes, killing 2 guards. And, he is looking for his perfect wife. Jim has molded young Theresa into perfection that only he can see, and therefore Theresa must die for her ultimate betrayal. Tess leaves her daughter in police custody and seeks out J.T. Dillon, a burnt out ex-Marine and ex-mercenary. J.T. is battling his own demons and is not too receptive to Tess and her plight, until his sister Marion abruptly appears. As an FBI agent, she is suspicious of Tess and is also very dismissive of J.T. Their history is not that nice. The Colonel has seen to that. But, cool, aloof Marion may have screwed up-she's discovered Tess' true identity and Beckett may already know where she is. J.T. knows he has to help Tess, and is fighting to control past and present emotions. J.T. has just finished his annual drinking binge to mark the anniversary of his 'perfect' wife. Marion wants J.T. to go see their father. He's dying. She's been the good girl and good wife and the perfect FBI agent. Why then is everything unraveling now? She must not disappoint the Colonel, but she must help save Tess from the worst serial killer, FBI profiler Quinn has seen. Beckett was one of them; he knows police procedure, murder protocol, and forensics. Gardner puts together a beautiful patchwork quilt, because of the subplots in THE PERFECT HUSBAND. Just make sure you have a pot of coffee and your favorite comfort food, because you have to finish this page turner in one sitting. And the book will haunt your dreams for a few nights.

HÜLYA

Mükemmel Koca Lisa Gardner adı gibi mükemmel bir kitap idi... Orjinal adı The Perfect Husband olan Mükemmel Koca'nın Goodreads puanı 5/3,98 benim puanım 5/5 ..Yazarın diğer kitaplarini da en kısa zamanda okumayı planlıyorum. Harika bir romantik polisiye gerilimdi. Hikayede her şey vardı. Kapaktan ceviri ve edite kadar dört dörtlük bir kitaptı.Sayfaları nasıl çevirdiğimi fark etmedim..Kocanız hasta ruhlu olsa ne yapardınız? Babasının zulmünden kurtulmak icin genc yasta evlenen Tess'in hayatı cok gecmeden bir kabusa dönüşecektir...Yakışıklı,karizmatik kocasının şiddeti ve hasta ruhu ile çok geçmeden tanişan Tess eski günlerini mumla arayacaktir. Theresa Matthews babasının şiddetinden kacmak ve onu koruması icin yeni tanıstıgi yakışıklı karizmatik polis Jim Beckett ile evlenir. Yakısiklı,havalı bu genç adamın gercek yüzü ile tanısması uzun sürmez.Mükemmelliyet sevdası IQ'su çok yüksek olan bu genç adam Tess'i hastalık şeklindeki mükemmelliyet için çok zorlar.. Ona önce psikolojik baskı yaparak aşagılayip istedigi gibi sindirmeye başlar. Her şeye o karar verir uygular gerekirse zor ile uygulatır..Evliliklerinin ikinci yılına geldiğinde Theresa Jim Beckett'in gercek yüzünü görmüş olup polisle iş birligi yaparak onun gercek yüzünü aciga cikartip isledigi on cinayetten hapise girmesini saglar.Jim'den bosanan Tess icin korku dolu günler bitmez polis korumasında olsa da günleri geceleri korku içinde geçmektedir..Kocası kural tanımayan zeka seviyesi çok yüksek ve istediği kılığa kolayca girebilmektedir..Her an nereden geleceğini beklemekten yaşam onun için dayanılmaz bir hale gelmiştir...Her an eski kocasının karşısına çıkıp onu ele verdiği için onu öldürmeye gelmesini beklemektedir...ünkü Jİm Beckett onun yakalatan karısinin kalbıni sökerek öldürmeye yemin etmistir. Kural tanımayan kocasi polislerin tüm çalısma sistemini bilmekte oldugundan,onu polisin koruyamayacaginin da farkina varmistir. Jim Beckett iki gardiyanı öldürerek hapisten kaçar Theresa Eski asker J.T.Dillon'a başvurur onu asker gibi egitip dövüsmeyi ögrenmesi icin yüklü bir para teklif eder.J.T de karısi ve cocugunu kaybetmiş siddetten hazetmeyen alkolik bir eski askerdir. Cok derin ailevi sorunlarida vardir. Bu isi kabul etmek istemez Tess'de pes etmek istemez.Ama bu çekişmeyi sonunda Tess kazanır ve J:T. genç kadını eğitmeye başlar...Geçen zaman içinde de ikili arasındaki romantik yakınlaşma da başlar..Kocası ile yaşadığı ilişki de kadınlığını yaşamayamayan Tess için hissettikleri çok özeldir...Tavsiye ederim..İlk defa okumaya başladığım bu yazarın takipçisi olacağım....

LJ

THE PERFECT HUSBAND (Suspense-Tess-Cont) - ExGardner, Lisa - 1st in seriesFrom Fantastic Fiction: Jim Beckett was everything Tess had ever dreamed of... But 2 years after Tess married Jim and bore his child, she helped put him behind bars for savagely murdering 10 women. Even lockedup in a max security prison, he vowed he would come after her and make her pay. Now the killer has escaped, and Tess has got to learn to fight back. With the help of a burned out ex marine, Tess learns how to protect herself and her daughter as a gigantic manhunt , crossing 4 states, counts down to this terrifying reunion between husband and wife. Raw violence, hot sex--a great read but not for everyone.

Karen

I was interested in this book and the movements of a serial killer, as well as the ultimate outcome. I enjoy mysteries--especially crime-dramas and police procedure, so I was looking forward to reading this one. For me, there were little annoying things such as unedited typos and grammatical errors. But bigger issues were the underdeveloped characters. The main characters were not sympathetic and I only cared about how the killer would finally be caught and killed. Of course, the constant errors made by law enforcement were frustrating, but I expect that's par for the course.This series received high ratings and I marked the Quincy & Rainie books as to-read, but I will be removing them from my list. Life is too short to read mediocre books.

Book Him Danno

My aunt has talked about this book for awhile and she finally just gifted it to me from Amazon for the Kindle. Wow I have to say that it kept me on the edge of my chair wondering what was going to happen. Her bad guy was BAD, he scared me to the point that I was checking the locks, the windows and the closets before going to bed. He was freaky scary and I hope never to meet someone like him in real life.I liked that the female, Tess, took control of her life and didn't just let things happen to her. She was determined to fight him with everything she had and even leaned new skills to add to the battle. J.T. was a strong lead, even with the condition he was in when she met him. He was determined to end this with Tess's husband and even with his loss he made a formidable foe.If you like suspense thrillers you will enjoy this book. I now look forward to finding the time to read her other books. 4 1/2 stars maybe not for everyone.

Tara Jones

Best Lisa Gardner book, thus far......and I have read almost all of the DD Warren books. While those are hard to put down because I find myself wanting the characters to work together to soften DD's heart and make her more open-minded and less stubborn (all while rooting for her to find the true "bad guy/gal," this book was extremely difficult to put down because of every character, their pasts, their interactions, their thoughts, the scenery/imagery. this was not just an action-packed book, not just a romance, not just a mystery, not just a deeply descriptive, thought pro joking book; it was all of the above and more. instead of wanting to get to the end of the book, I enjoyed the entire book. I hope all of Gardner's FBI Profiler series books are as deep, textured, and intriguing stories that somehow, despite the horrific subject matter, are enjoyable moving and enlightening. If they are, I will prefer them to the DD Warren series, any day. and that's saying a lot. in itself. because of how difficult it is for me to put down the DD Warren books, as well. I'd say the writing and characters and settings are more lovable, or enjoyably intriguing than those in/of the other Gardner books. out of the many books in the many genres I have read, I've only given three of them five stars. This is one of the three. Enjoy!

Jen

This was one of the first books that Gardner wrote... she has definately become a much better writer. I have loved the other books by her (alone, gone, killing hour), but i really didn't like this one.The story line is very unrealistic and the characters are not likable.The story centers around "tess" Her husband, is a psychopath who kills many people, he gets arrested, breaks out of prison, and comes back for her and her daughter.That plot sounds great, but the storyline was very bad.Tess goes to a mercenary for help (JT). The books centers on how screwed up JT is and how is father beat him and his sister..... i don't know. The book was just not a good read. I didn't like reading about JT; the book should have centered around Tess and her killer husband.

Katie

This was my first foray into romantic suspense, and even though the romance wasn't quite to my taste, this still made for an entertaining and very fast read that would appeal to both romance fans (provided they don't mind a heavy dose of violence, sex, and language), and suspense fans (provided they don't mind the romance angle).The story centers around Tess, who marries a charming police officer named Jim Beckett. Two years into the marriage, however, Tess discovers that Jim is a sadistic serial killer who has murdered ten women. She has Jim arrested, but not before he attacks her. Now, several years later, she learns that Jim has escaped from prison to find her.Most people in Tess's position would go straight to the police, but because Jim Beckett is an ex-cop, and because he managed to get past the cops before, Tess decides on a different strategy...she decides to fight back. With the reluctant help of J.T. Dillon, an ex-Marine, she learns to defend herself. But the whole time, Jim is planning his ambush...Even though the plot centers around Tess, the story is told from the perspective of multiple characters, the two main ones being Tess and J.T. But through this multiple perspective approach, we learn a lot about the characters and their back stories, and the suspense increases dramatically, especially when we get inside the head of Jim Beckett.And, of course, we have the romantic attraction between Tess and J.T. As I mentioned before, I wasn't a fan of the romantic angle, but that's just a personal preference of mine. At any rate, the romance wasn’t excessive, so it didn’t detract too much from the rest of the story, and it did provide some interesting insights into the characters.For me, the story’s biggest strength was in the suspense it created, and the plot twists introduced in the last half of the book. By letting the reader inside Jim Beckett’s head, we know more than any of the rest of the characters, and we get a better sense of his razor-sharp intelligence, making him an even more terrifying villain. This is a classic example of the page turner – you’re sure to blast through this one within a few days. Readalikes: Catherine Coulter, Tami Hoag, Sandra Brown, Julie Garwood are all popular romantic suspense authors who write thrilling stories with strong female protagonists. For less of a romantic suspense angle, try Harlan Coben, who also writes well-plotted suspense stories with intriguing characters and accurate forensic details.

Michael

Tess is a woman on the edge. Having put away in prison her abusive husband Jim who had killed 10 women she was now faced with the knowledge he had escaped and was looking for her. With her daughter Samantha in a safe house Tess convinced the police will not be the best option for protection goes to ex marine J.T. to help her face her fears by teaching her how to defend herself.J.T. has demons of his own to contend with with the death of his abusive father and the denial from his little sis Marion about what happened growing up. J.T. regrets not being able to save her from abuse when younger. Despite being unwilling to start of with J.T. pushes Tess and eventually falls for her. While this is going on Jim is slowly and methodically going towards Tess. Getting Samantha from the safe house and leaving a trail of dead police officers in his wake. Will Tess and J.T. be able to stop Jim from ending what he set out to do?The Perfect husband was another quality read from one of the great crime writers of our time in Lisa Gardner. Although different from her Detective D.D. we do have another a familiar face with FBI's Quincy trying his best to nail Jim while realising he would be a target himself. Jim Beckett is also a terryfying bad guy. Smart enough to avoid detection while strong enough to kill police officers with his bare hands. While it is obvious Tess will confront Jim again and J.T. will be there to defend her the story had a number of twist that took me by suprise and kept me guessing. Overall this is an excellent read for fans of fictional crime.

Olivermagnus

Theresa Matthews met and married Jim Beckett thinking he was everything she'd ever dreamed of. But after becoming pregnant she learns that her perfect husband is hiding a horrific secret. Two years after Tess helps get Jim locked up for the serial murders of ten women, she thinks she and her child are safe. But Jim escapes from his maximum security prison and pledges revenge on his wife. Tess puts her daughter in police protection and then sets out on her own. She believes the time has come to stop running and start fighting for her life, so she turns to the burnt out ex-marine J.T. Dillon for fighting lessons. J.T. has his own demons, and he doesn't want the responsibility of protecting Tess. Battling his way through a horrible childhood, J.T. came out scarred. He knew that he didn't protect his younger sister, Marion, from their father and suffers extreme depression over the loss of his wife and child, the only people he cared for. Now, after two weeks training with Tess, J.T. knows that he cannot lose another woman he's come to care for.I found the concept for this story to have a lot of potential but it's obvious this was one of the first books ever written by Lisa Gardner. Normally I like them much better than this one. I found the relationship between Tess and J.T. to be pretty shallow and awkwardly written. It didn't make sense to me that a woman with a background of violence in relationships would be attracted to a hot-headed, drunken, and seemingly violent man. The characters were not developed enough for me to care too much about them. To be fair, I'm not a huge fan of romantic suspense.....I like a grittier style of mystery. I think many people will enjoy it more than I did. Lisa Gardner does write some really good books and I've enjoyed her D.D. Warren series quite a bit. Like many early books, Gardner has gotten a lot better with time.

Gina

It takes a lot for me to give a thriller 5 stars. Pushing 4 1/2? Sure, I can do that here. I am not generally a nail biter yet the last few chapters of this book left me gnawing away! I actually gasped at one revealing point in the story.Two things:1) I have read Lisa Gardner books before (never disappointed in her!) but decided to read her Quincy & Rainie series in order starting with book 1. Quincy played a minimal part in The Perfect Husband. I don't think it matters if you read these out of order.2) There is some graphic sex described in this story. It's nothing too out there but if you prefer your sexual acts to be within the marriage bed and described as soft, sunshine-y and full of roses, consider this your warning before you pick this story up.

Theresa Leone Davidson

I read the fifth in the series first, a couple of months ago, so I had to go back to the first in the series. It's about the hunt for a serial killer, with the killer's wife as the main character. She turned him in once but now he's escaped from prison and she knows he will be coming after her. She hires a mercenary to train her in self defense, and of course they fall for each other. The suspense was riveting and got me through the book in only a day and a half. I scored it only a three, however, because of the completely implausible chain of events that happen to a supporting character, the mercenary's sister, and because, unless she's gotten better at it, Gardner should not write sex scenes. They made me cringe, and also implausible is our main character, Tess, knowing her beloved daughter has been kidnapped by a serial killer, but not being able to help herself from jumping into bed with her mercenary. Doesn't ring true. Nevertheless, an exciting read.

Jonetta

Tess Williams, after a dismal childhood, found herself married to the "perfect husband" who turned out to be her biggest nightmare. After discovering he was responsible for the murder of at least ten women, Tess helped in his capture. Now he's escaped from prison and she knows his ultimate goal is to find her and her daughter and kill her. She decides to go on her own and prepare herself physically and mentally for the inevitable confrontation by hiring a mercenary to train her. J. T. Dillon is the man she seeks out. He's a burned out ex-Marine in retirement but agrees to take the assignment. This is a gritty story with a truly dispicable adversary in Jim Beckett, Tess' ex-husband. He's resourceful and because he was one, he thinks like a cop and is effective at eluding capture. Tess is almost a tragic figure if not for the burning drive to protect her daughter. J. T. Is fighting the demons of his childhood and the disintegration of his relationship with his sister, his only sibling. The dialogue is terse and the narrative simple and direct. The story is chilling and suspenseful and will keep you edgy, at least it did me. There were times when I was so tense I had to put the book down, regroup and gather my courage to resume reading. The one weakness I found in the story was the romance between J. T. and Tess. I wasn't able to connect with the thing that attracted them to each other. His interactions with her were mostly harsh and cruel, which was unsettling. She was a contradiction, having been so passive for most of her life but asserting herself with J. T. in odd ways. J. T.'s family history was always in the background and it was disturbing and a bit confusing. While I liked both of them, a few tender moments in their relationship might have made the romance more plausible. Though the romance has some weaknesses, the strength of the story is in the suspense surrounding Jim Beckett. This guy was seriously scary and diabolical, thwarting the efforts of many law enforcement agencies to capture him. I was worn out by the end of the story and he had left a bloody trail. Read this if you have the nerve.

Elizabeth

I really struggled to finish this. I would have put it down but I am not one to start a book and not finish it. I'm not sure that I will buy any more of her books new. I guess I was just disappointed with it.

Share your thoughts

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *